Recent studies, including one conducted by the University of California at Davis, have shown a marked decrease in DUI arrests in major cities across the state. The studies suggest that DUI arrests fell 32 percent in San Diego, 28 percent in San Jose, 26 percent in Sacramento and 14 percent in Los Angeles as well as the San Francisco-Oakland area in the two years following the introduction of ridesharing programs. That accounts for a decrease of over 2,400 DUI arrests compared to the two-year period in each area prior to the arrival of Uber and Lyft.
However, despite this, DUI fatalities continue to rise. From 2015 to 2016, fatalities involving drivers with blood alcohol concentrations of 0.08 percent or higher increased by 16.3 percent. DUI checkpoints remain a common sight across the state, and the penalties for being caught drunk driving remain steep: up to $10,000 in fines, higher insurance charges, suspension of one’s license and, of course, jail time. In addition, there have been talks of cutting California’s drunk driving BAC threshold in half and making the use of ignition interlock devices more widespread.
What Do I Do If I Am Arrested for DUI in California?
DUI arrests are no joke. The potential ramifications are far-reaching. You need the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney to ensure that your rights are protected. If you are pulled over for drunk driving, then do not speak to the police officers any more than you need to. Do not elect to take the standardized field sobriety tests (these are not required and there is no penalty for refusal). As soon as you possibly can, get in contact with an attorney. Call us at (559) 258-2298 or fill out our online contact form to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation with our Fresno criminal defense attorneys.